عرابة ومعالمها


عرابة هي واحدة من أجمل القرى الفلسطينية التي يعود تاريخها إلى العصر الكنعاني (الألف الثاني قبل الميلاد) وتحافظ على موقع أثري (تل دوثان) يعود لتلك الفترة.

حافظت المدينة على ثرائها في القرنين السابع عشر والثامن عشر والتاسع عشر. خلال ذلك الوقت، أدرجها المحتلون العثمانيون ضمن 24 قرية عُرِّفت باسم "قرى العرش"، حيث كان هدفهم هو حكم المنطقة، وجمع الضرائب، وإنفاذ القانون، وإقامة العدل نيابة عنهم. حكمت عائلة عبد الهادي المتنفذة، والتي حازت على السلطة والمال، قرية عرابة وضمت إليها قرى أخرى في مناطق جنين ونابلس. وقاموا ببناء القصر ذو 21 مبنى أنيق بتجانس معماري مدهش، بالإضافة إلى مسجد في وسط المدينة. تم تكرار النمط من قبل العائلات الغنية الأخرى.


للوصول إلى عرابة

يمكن الوصول إلى هناك بواسطة السيارة، أو عن طريق طلب سيارة الأجرة "تاكسي". هناك أيضا العديد من الحافلات وسيارات الأجرة من محطة الباصات في جنين ونابلس ورام الله والقدس.


المعالم الرئيسية في عرابة


قصر عبد الهادي

العشيرة الحاكمة في "قرية العرش"

يقع قصر عبد الهادي الكبير الأنيق في وسط عرابة. ويتكون من 13 مبنى تم بناؤها على مراحل مختلفة. تم إنشاء النصف الأول في القرن التاسع عشر كمسكن لعائلة عبد الهادي المتنفذة.

يرمز القصر إلى السلطة التي حافظت عليها عشيرة عبد الهادي على مر السنين: خلال القرنين الثامن عشر والتاسع عشر، فترة السيطرة العثمانية (1516-1918)، والتي تخللتها فترة الاحتلال من قبل المصريين (1831-1840).

نظم العثمانيون، بعد أن استولوا على فلسطين من المماليك، المناطق الريفية الفرعية في 24 "قرى العرش" التي كانت بمثابة مقرات للزعماء المحليين. وقاموا بتفويض أقوى عائلات المنطقة (مثل عبد الهادي في عرابة، وجرار في صانور، وطوقان في الخليل) على رأس هذه القرى، والتي أصبحت وراثية في الوقت المناسب. وكان من بين أدوار هذه العشائر جمع الضرائب والحفاظ على القانون والنظام باسم الحكومة.

على هذا النحو، أتيحت لعائلة عبد الهادي الفرصة لتوسيع نفوذها وزيادة أراضيها الزراعية ومواشيها. من بين أمور أخرى، كان لديهم مصانع لإنتاج الزيت والصابون، وكانوا يفضلون موقع عرابة الحيوي لتجارتهم.

نمو سلطة عائلة عبد الهادي وبناء القصر

تمكنت عشيرة عبد الهادي من الحفاظ على علاقة جيدة بالحكام وابتعدت عن الانتفاضة الفاشلة خلال العهد العثماني. كما تجنبوا صراعات السلطة بين العشائر الأخرى (منها جرار في صانور وطوقان في نابلس ونمر في جنين). كما سعوا لتنويع أنشطتهم في الزراعة، والتحول نحو الصناعة (في الغالب الزيت والحبوب والصابون)، والتجارة مع أوروبا، ومنح القروض. على الرغم من أن إدارتهم كانت تسلطية، إلا أن التنمية الاقتصادية حققت الرفاهية للناس.

ازدادت قوة العشيرة بشكل كبير مع قدوم الحكم المصري (1831-1840)، لدرجة أن حسين عبد الهادي، الذي أثبت أنه خادم مخلص وفعال، تمت ترقيته إلى منصب حاكم ولاية صيدا التي شملت في ذلك الوقت كل فلسطين تقريباً.

أدت استعادة السيطرة العثمانية في نهاية المطاف، وتحالفها مع العشائر المعادية إلى هزيمة آل عبد الهادي وتخريب قصرهم. إلا أن وجودهم في نابلس (المركز الاقتصادي لفلسطين) وقوتهم الاقتصادية ذلك الوقت، كان متجذراً ومستقراً بما يكفي لاستعادة ثروتهم بسرعة.

أثناء زيارة القصر، تأكدوا من رؤية ما وراء الغرف، وباب المدخل المهيب، وبوابات موسى وعساف. شاهدوا مقر المنظمة النسائية (مع عرض الحرف اليدوية)، الحمام التركي، حديقة البرتقال، المسجد العتيق، غرف تدريب الأطفال، والمعرض الدائم للفنان المحلي كوجهان.

جمعية عرابة لتنمية المرأة

تجربة التسوق

خصصت البلدية أحد قصور عبد الهادي مقرا للمنظمة النسائية المحلية بعرابة. تأسست هذه الجمعية، التي تديرها اليوم تمام قيناوي، في عام 2004 لتمكين المرأة وحمايتها من العنف. كما توفر الجمعية فعاليات تدريبية وترفيهية للعضوات وأطفالهن وتقديم مسابقات ومكافآت كمساهمة في دعم الأسر، إضافة إلى أنشطة تطوعية مشتركة مع البلدية لصالح المجتمع المحلي. في البداية، كانت الجمعية تضم 52 عضوة. اليوم، هناك أكثر من 700 عضوة موزعين في عرابة وفروع قباطية، ويعبد، وكفيريت في جنين.

تقوم النساء بصناعة وبيع منتجات يدوية مختلفة (معروضة في القصر وفي المعارض)، مثل المطرزات والحلي والقلائد والسلال وحقائب اليد ومعجون الزيتون والمربيات. كما يدركن قيمة الحرف اليدوية ويسعدن بتدريب الزوار (بناءً على إشعار مسبق) لإنشاء الحرف اليدوية الخاصة بهم وصنع الأطباق الفلسطينية. في الواقع، فإن أكثر يتفردن به هو "الدُقة"، وغالباً ما يتم تحضيرها في المناسبات والاحتفالات والمهرجانات والمعارض.

الدُقة عبارة عن مقبلات غزاوية مصنوعة من العدس المحمص والمطحون والحمص المخلوط مع السماق والكراوية وبذور السمسم. تم جلب وصفة هذا المزيج الخاص من غزة من قبل إحدى النساء، منار خليف، التي ترغب في تعليم الضيوف كيفية صنعها بطريقتها الأصيلة.

? العنوان: قصر عبد الهادي
ساعات العمل الرسمية: 2 بعد الظهر. - 7 مساءً كل يوم (ولكن يمكنكم الزيارة في أي وقت عن طريق الاتصال بالسيدة تمام: 9000848-056.

حمام "الشامي" التركي

تجربة ثقافية

سيتم قريباً افتتاح حمام تركي أنيق في مبنى قصر عبد الهادي بالقرب من حديقة البرتقال. يتميز الحمام بطراز معماري عريق.

? العنوان: قصر عبد الهادي. سيتم تحديد أيام وساعات العمل.
الاتصال (في البلدية): [email protected]

معجنات أم جهاد

تجربة التذوق

أم جهاد امرأة مرحة تقوم بتحضير المعجنات الفلسطينية محلية الصنع. تشمل الحلويات الكلاج (نوع خاص من العجين يحضر للمناسبات الخاصة، يشبه البقلاوة ولكنه يقدم ساخناً)، الكبة الحلوة (طبقة خارجية تشبه العجين وحشوة داخلية). وتخبز أيضاً الخبز الأصفر (المصنوع من دقيق الذرة وزيت الزيتون والسمسم) والمعمول (محشو بالتمر).
بدأت أم جهاد الموهوبة بالطبخ بتحضير الحلويات لأقاربها الذين أحبوا معجناتها. ومن ثم قررت بيع الحلويات حسب الطلب. كما تقوم بتعليم الزوار كيفية تحضير تلك الأشياء المميزة، وخاصة الكلاج الشهي.

? للاتصال: محل حلويات أم جهاد في الشارع الغربي.
أم جهاد مستعدة لنقل وتعليم مهاراتها في صناعة الحلويات، ولكن يفضل الحجز المسبق قبل يوم واحد على الأقل. الجوال: 0595684241

موقع تل دوثان الأثري وبئر يوسف

تل (جبل) دوثان موقع أثري مأهول بشكل متقطع منذ العصر الحجري الحديث (10000 - 3500 قبل الميلاد) وما بعده، حتى العصر الإسلامي.

تم ذكر دوثان في الكتاب المقدس على أنه المكان الذي تآمر فيه أبناء يعقوب، الذين يكانوا يحسدون يوسف لكونه محبوباً من قبل والدهم، على قتله بإلقائه في خزان الماء. موقع الحفرة في دوثان هو المكان الذي كان فيه هذا الخزان. لكن يوسف لم يمت هناك. أقنع الابن الأكبر الإخوة ببيعه للتجار في طريقهم إلى مصر. وهناك حصل يوسف على مكانة
رفيعة في تفسير أحلام فرعون. في النهاية سامح يوسف الإخوة ورحب بهم وجمع شمل العائلة مع والدهم العجوز يعقوب.

? العنوان: امتداد شارع عرابة الرئيسي على طريق جنين.

تجربة الخط

تجربة تعلم كتابة الكلمات العربية بطريقة خطية رائعة للغاية. ستحصل على هذه الفرصة الفريدة في منزل محمد شريف.

محمد شريف فنان عمل مع الخطاط الشهير هاشم البغدادي. عرض مشاريعه في أماكن مختلفة بما في ذلك بريطانيا العظمى وأوكرانيا والصين وإسرائيل. تُظهر أعماله أساليب كتابة عربية متنوعة أنيقة مع زخارف جذابة وأعياد من الألوان.

خلال الزيارة ، ستشاهد نماذج مختلفة من أعمال الفنان. سوف يعلمك أيضًا كيفية الكتابة بطريقة فنية تبدأ بستة أحرف عربية. بمساهمة صغيرة من جانبك ، ستتمكن من العمل بثلاثة أنواع من الفرش والحبر والورق الخاص.

? العنوان: منزل محمد شريف على طريق حديقة عرابة قرب مسجد حمزة. متاح خلال أيام العمل بناء على إشعار مسبق.
الجوال: +970 599827389

بيت هناء صالح للضيافة

الإقامة والمأكولات

يشغل بيت هناء صالح للاستضافة جزء من قصر قديم على الطراز الفلسطيني العثماني. تجيد هناء التحدث باللغة الإنجليزية وتمنح الزائرين فرصة للتفاعل ومعرفة السمات المميزة لعرابة الحقيقية.

إنها إقامة فاخرة للغاية بسعر منخفض للغاية. يحتوي على غرفتين كبيرتين أنيقتين: الأولى بها 3 أسرة (قابلة للزيادة إلى 5)، مع شبكة الانترنت WIFI. والثاني يحتوي على سريرين (قابلة للزيادة إلى 4)، بدون WIFI.

الوجبات الرئيسية هي مما يشتهر به المطبخ الفلسطيني. الإفطار رائع، مع خبز الطابون الطازج مع الجبن الساخن أو الزعتر، وتحيط به المجموعة المعتادة من المقبلات الفلسطينية.

? العنوان: بالقرب من وسط المدينة.
جوال: 0599292972
الهاتف: (4)2468366
البريد الالكتروني: [email protected]
الموقع الالكتروني: اضغط هنا
اضغط هنا

بيت المرداوي للضيافة

الإقامة والمأكولات

يخصص مصطفى وآيات مرداوي الطابق الثاني من الفيلا الخاصة بهم للزوار. تحتوي الفيلا على 4 غرف و14 سريرا. إضافة إلى خدمة شبكة الانترنت WIFI عالية السرعة.
تتمتع مدرجات الفيلا بإطلالة رائعة على بلدة عرابة. حيث تطل نوافذ غرف الضيوف على بساتين الزيتون الجميلة والمورقة، والتي يعود بعضها إلى عائلة المرداوي.

بنت العائلة المنزل بكثير من الحب، ومن عائدات تجارتها بزيت الزيتون الذي تنتجه. مصطفى مدرب قيادة لكنه يكرس الكثير من وقته للعمل في أرضه. خلال موسم الزيتون، تقوم جميع العائلات في عرابة بقطف الزيتون بشكل جماعي ومتناغم وهو تقليد متوارث من الأجداد. يجمع مصطفى بمهارة بين أساليب الزراعة التقليدية التي تعلمها من والده مع التقنيات المبتكرة للزراعة الحديثة وذلك لتلبية أعلى المعايير الدولية لبيع الزيتون.

آيات طاهية رائعة للأطباق الفلسطينية المصنوعة من المنتجات العضوية في أرضهم. تخصصها هو المقلوبة المحضر من الأرز والخضروات واللحوم والأعشاب – تطبخ كلها في وعاء واحد ثم تقلب (بأسلوب فريد!) كثيرون يحضرون هذه الوجبة اللذيذة، لكن من الصعب أن نجد ما يضاهي تلك التي تحضرها آيات.

? العنوان: بيت المرداوي للضيافة (مصطفى وآيات المرداوي) شارع كفور الري.
مفتوح عند الحجز مسبق.
+972 569329554/ +972 599722591/ +972 59972259 جوال:
البريد الالكتروني: [email protected]
الموقع الالكتروني: اضغط هنا

كريم اليدين "الخارق"

أنشأت السيدة باسمة عارضة ورشة في منزلها لصناعة كريم اليدين الذي يقال أنه "خارق"! له طريقة خاصة في جعل البشرة ناعمة وخالية من التجاعيد. سيكون من دواعي سرور باسمة أن تعلّم الزوار كيفية العناية بأيديهم وأذرعهم.

? الموقع: تقع ورشة باسمة في وسط عرابة.
ساعات العمل: كل يوم (ما عدا الجمعة) من الساعة 10 صباحاً حتى 6 مساءً.
الجوال: +970 42468794

محل النرجيلة وهدايا أخرى

استكشف وتسوق

إذا كنت ترغب في الحصول على قطعة من فلسطين ، يمكن لمحل الهدايا أن يقدم لك بعض الأفكار الأصلية. أحد الأمثلة على ذلك هو الحصول على نرجيلة أنيقة أو بعض الهدايا الأقل حجمًا.

? العنوان: يقع محل الهدايا في وسط عرابة. مفتوح من الساعة 9 صباحًا حتى الساعة 6 مساءً.
الجوال: +970 42468794.

حديقة البلدية

منتزه عرابة البلدي، بطبيعته الخلابة وبساتينه المنظمة هو مكان رائع للترفيه. فهو يحتوي على ألعاب ومقهى مع أماكن جلوس داخلية وخارجية ومسبح خلال فصل الصيف للأطفال. يوجد أيضاً مسبح للكبار (وهو مفتوح في الصيف بالتناوب: للنساء فقط في الأيام الزوجية والرجال فقط في الأيام الفردية).
تعد الحديقة أيضاً مكاناً جيداً لقضاء الأمسيات للأزواج والعائلات.

? العنوان: نهاية الشارع الشمالي.
ساعات العمل: 9 صباحاً - منتصف الليل.

مطعم بلال عبيد

يقدم مطعم بلال عبيد "مطعم السعادة" في عرابة أشهى الأطباق الفلسطينية. حيث يمكنكم تناول الوجبات السريعة أثناء التنقل أو اختيار تجربة تناول الطعام (في الطابق الأول) مع قائمة مليئة بالأطباق الفلسطينية.

? العنوان: في شارع عرابة الرئيسي (وسط البلد).
ساعات العمل: مفتوح يومياً من الساعة 10 صباحاً حتى منتصف الليل.
الجوال: +970 592462992، هاتف +970 42462922.

النزازة - خبرة في صناعة زيت زيتون والفحم

شركة النزازة متخصصة في إنتاج زيت الزيتون لصالح المزارعين الفلسطينيين.
نحن نشجع الزوار بشدة على الاطلاع على مواسم زيت الزيتون والمشاركة في عملية صنعه (بإمكان مركز الاتصال التابع لنا مساعدتكم في هذا الأمر). من خلال هذا المشروع، يمكنكم الانضمام إلى المجتمع المحلي في قطف الزيتون خلال الأشهر الأخيرة من العام. بالإمكان بعد ذلك أن تروا في شركة النزازة كيف يتم اختيار الزيتون وعصره وتعبئته كزيت زيتون فلسطيني رائع.

بالتوازي مع زيت الزيتون، يمتاز المصنع بإنتاج قوالب الفحم، المصنوع من الخشب المهدور، ليتم حرقه في المواقد.

? العنوان: شركة النزازة. يديرها عبد العزيز العارضة.
Email: [email protected]
Website: اضغط هنا

اكتشفوا عرابة ليلاً

عرابة ممتعة في الليل، على الرغم من أنه يجب ملاحظة أن النساء نادراً ما يخرجن هناك ونادراً ما يمشين بمفردهن. ستجدون في الغالب الأزواج والعائلات يستمتعون بالأجواء الساحرة. حيث تفتح المتاجر، التي تقدم الوجبات السريعة لتنير الشوارع في الليل. كما ان أصحاب المحلات جاهزون وسيسعدون بمشاركة السياح تخصصاتهم وخبراتهم.

الضيوف مدعوون لتذوق المأكولات وتعلم كيفية صنعها. وتشمل المأكولات خبز الطابون وخبز الكماج (للسندويشات أو للغمس في الصلصات) والفلافل بتركيبات وأذواق مختلفة، والكبة المقلية باللحم أو الخضار، والزرب (الدجاج المطبوخ تحت الأرض!) وهناك أيضاً العديد من الحلويات التي يمكنكم تذوقها وصنعها بأنفسكم مثل الكنافة اللذيذة، المطبق بعجينة الفيلو وشراب البرتقال وغيرها.

ARRABAAND THE POINTS OF INTEREST


Arraba is one of the nicest Palestinian villages, which dates back to the Canaanite period (2nd millennium BC) and preserves an archaeological site (Tal Dothan) of that period.

The town maintained its richness of the 17 th , 18 th , and 19 th centuries. During that time, the Ottoman occupiers had included it among the 24 villages defined as “Throne Villages,” as their aim was to rule out the territory, collect taxes, enforce the law, and administer justice on their behalf. The influential family of Abd al-Hadi, which was both powerful and rich, led the throne village of Arraba and joined other villages within the districts of Jenin and Nablus. With a surprising architectural homogeneity, they built the 21 elegant buildings of the palace, as well as a mosque in the middle of the town. The style was replicated by other rich families.


How to reach it

Arraba can be reached by car or with a reserved taxi, as well as by the buses or multiple taxis from the bus station of Jenin, Nablus, Ramallah, and Jerusalem.


The Main Points of Interest


ABD AL-HADI PALACE

CLAN HEAD OF THE “THRONE VILLAGE”

The large elegant palace of Abd al-Hadi is at the center of Arraba. It consists of 13 buildings built in different stages. The first half was established in the 19 th century as a residence for the influential Abd al-Hadi family.

The palace symbolizes the domination preserved by Abd al-Hadi’s clan throughout the years: during the 18th and 19th centuries, the Ottoman domination (1516-1918), and the interval of the occupation by the Egyptians (1831-1840).

The Ottomans, after capturing Palestine from the Mamluks, organized the rural subdistricts into 24 “throne villages” that served as seats for the local leaders. At the head of these villages, they delegated the most powerful families of the territory (such as Abd al-Hadi in Arraba, Jarrar in Sanur, and Tuqan in Hebron) – which in due time became hereditary. Among the roles of these clans was to collect taxes and maintain law and order on behalf of the government.

As such, the Abd al-Hadi family had the opportunity to further increase its power and extend their cultivated land and livestock. Among other things, they had mills producing oil and soap, and they favoured the crucial location of Arraba for their commerce.

THE EVOLUTION OF THE ABD AL-HADI FAMILY AND THE PALACE

The Abd al-Hadi clan managed to remain on good terms with the rules and stayed away from the defeated insurrection during the Ottoman era. They also avoided conflicts of power among the other clans (the Jarrars of Sanur, the Tuqans of Nablus, and the Nimers of Jenin). They preferred to diversify their activities in agriculture, industrial transformation (mostly of oil, grains, and soap), commerce with Europe, and money loaning. Although their management was utterly authoritarian, yet the economic development was favorable to the wellbeing of the people.

The clan’s power increased so much with the Egyptian occupation (1831-1840), to the point that Hussein Abd al-Hadi, who proved to be a loyal and effective servant, was promoted to the governorship of Sidon province which then included almost all of Palestine.

Eventually, the restoration of Ottoman control and their alliance with the hostile clans defeated the Abd al-Hadis and destroyed their palace. But by that time, their presence in Nablus (the economic centre of Palestine) and their economic power was sound and settled enough for them to have a fast recovery of their wealth.

During the visit of the palace, make sure to look beyond the rooms, the two imposing doors of entrance, and the Musa and Assaf gates. Check out the seat of the Women Organization (with its display of handicrafts), the Turkish bath, the garden of the oranges, the antique mosque, the rooms for children training, and the permanent exposition of the local artist Kaujhan.

ARRABA SOCIETY FOR WOMEN DEVELOPMENT

EXPERIENCE AND SHOPPING

The Municipality assigned one of the Abd al-Hadi palaces as the headquarters for the local Women Organization of Arraba. This association, run by Temam Quinawi today, was founded in 2004 to empower women and protect them from violence. It also provides training and entertainment for members and their children and offers rewarded activities as contribution to families. It also has joint voluntary activities with the Municipality for the benefit of the community. Initially, the association had 52 members. Today, there are more than 700 members distributed around Arraba and the Jenin branches of Qabatiya, Ya’bad, and Kufayrit.

The women create and sell different handmade products (displayed at the palace and in fairs), such as embroidery, bijouterie, necklaces, baskets, handbags, olive paste, and jams. They recognize the value of handicrafts and are happy to provide (upon prior notice) training for the visitors to create their own handicrafts and make Palestinian dishes. In fact, their most original specialty is the dukkah, often cooked during the events, ceremonies, festivals, and expositions.

Dukkah is a Gazan condiment made with roasted and milled lentils and chickpeas blended with sumac, caraway and sesame seeds. The recipe for this particular blend was brought from Gaza by one of the women, Manar Khleif, who is willing to teach the guests how to make it in its authentic way.

Address: Abd al-Hadi Palace
Formal Hours: 2 p.m. – 7 p.m. every day (but you can visit anytime by calling Mrs Temam: +970
056-9000848)

THE SHAMI TURKISH BATH

CULTURE AND EXPERIENCE

An elegant Turkish bath will soon be opened in the premises of the Abd al-Hadi palace, near the garden of oranges. The bath has an old long-standing architecture style.

Address: Abd al-Hadi Palace. Open days and hours to be defined. Contact (in the municipality): [email protected]

OM JEHAD PASTRY SHOP

EXPERIENCE AND GASTRONOMY

Om Jehad is a delightful woman who prepares homemade Palestinian pastries. Desserts include kullaj (a special kind of dough prepared for special occasions, similar to baklava but served hot), sweet kubbeh (outer dough-like shell and an inner filling). She also bakes yellow bread (made with corn flour, olive oil and sesame), and ma’amoul (a soft biscuit filled with dates).

The talented Om Jehad started out by making dessert for her relatives who loved her pastries. She then decided to sell sweets by request. She also teaches how to make those special treats to visitors, especially her appetizing kullaj.

Contact: Om Jehad’s pastry shop in Western Street. Om Jehad is willing to show and teach her pastry skills, but it is best to book her at least one day in advance. Mobile: +970 059 5684241

TAL DOTHAN ARCHAEOLOGIC SITE AND JOSEPH’S WELL

Tal (mount) Dothan is an archaeological site inhabited since the Neolithic period (10,000 – 3,500 BC) and later, intermittently, until the Islamic period.

Dothan is mentioned in the Bible as the place where the sons of Jacob, envious that Joseph was the most loved by their father, plotted to kill Joseph by throwing him into the cistern. The site of the pit in Dothan is where that cistern was. But Joseph did not die there. The eldest son convinced the brothers to sell him to merchants on their way to Egypt. There, Joseph, interpreting the Pharaoh’s dreams, was granted a powerful status. Joseph eventually forgave the brothers, welcomed them, and reunified the family with their old father Jacob.

Address: Along the Arraba main street, on the road to Jenin.

THE EXPERIENCE OF CALLIGRAPHY

The experience of learning to write Arabic words in a calligraphic way is quite fascinating. You will get to have this unique opportunity at Mohammed Sharif’s house.

Mohammed Sharif is an artist who worked with the famous calligrapher Hashem al-Baghdadi. He exhibited his projects in various places including in Great Britain, Ukraine, China, and Israel. His works show various elegant Arabic writing styles with compelling motifs and feasts of colors.

During the visit, you will get to see different samples of the artist’s work. He will also teach you how to write in an artistic way starting with six Arabic letters. With a small contribution from your part, you will be able to work with three kinds of brushes, the ink, and the special paper.

Address: Mohammed Sharif’s house, on the road to Arraba park near Hamza Mosque. Available during working days upon prior notice. Mobile: +970 599827389

HANA SALAH HOMESTAY

ACCOMMODATION AND GASTRONOMY

The homestay (Othman’s Residence) by Hana Salah captures a part of an ancient palace in Palestinian-Ottoman style. Hana speaks good English and gives visitors an opportunity to interact and find out about the distinctive features of the real Arraba.

This is quite a luxurious stay at a very low price. It has two large elegant rooms: The first has 3 beds (extendable to 5), with WIFI. The second has 2 beds (extendable to 4), without WIFI.

The main meals are Palestinian specialties. The breakfast is exquisite, with fresh taboon bread with hot cheese or zaa’tar on top, circled by the usual variety of Palestinian hors d’oeuvres.

Address: Near the center of the town, always open.
Mobile: + 970 599 292 972.
Telephone: +970 4 246 8366.
Email: [email protected]
Website: http://palstays.ps/profile.php?homestayID=62.
See also: https://masaribrahim.ps/portfolio/hana-homestay-arraba/

AL MARDAWI GUEST HOUSE

ACCOMMODATION AND GASTRONOMY

Mustafa and Ayat Mardawi offer the 2nd floor of their villa to the guests. The villa has 4 rooms and 14 beds. All with WIFI high speed.

The villa’s terraces have an exquisite view of Arraba town. The guestroom windows overlook the beautiful and lush olive groves, some of which belong to the Mardawis. The family put much love in building the house, thanks to the olive oil they have sold from pressing the olives. Mustafa is a driving instructor but devotes much of his time working on his land. During olive season, all the families in Arraba harmoniously pick olives together; a tradition learned from the ancestors. Mustafa skillfully combines the traditional cultivation methods he learned from his father with the innovative techniques of modern farming so as to meet the highest international standards for olive sale.

Ayat is a great cook of Palestinian dishes made from their land’s organic products. Her specialty is the Maqlubeh (the “upside down” dish) prepared with rice, vegetables, meat and herbs – all cooked in a single pot and then turned over (in a unique style!) Many prepare this delicious meal, but we find difficult to meet one as tasteful as the one made by Ayat.

Address: Al-Mardawi Guesthouse (Mustafa and Ayat Mardawi), in Kufour Rai Street.
Open upon prior notice.
Mobile: +972 569329554/ +972 599722591/ +972 59972259.
Email: [email protected]
Website: https://masaribrahim.ps/2018/07/04/al-mardawi-guesthouse/

THE "MIRACULOUS" HAND CREAM

Mrs. Basima Arda has a workshop at her home where she produces a hand cream which is said to be ‘miraculous’! It has a special way in making the skin soft and free of wrinkles. Upon request, Basima will be pleased to teach visitors on how to take care of their hands and arms.

Location: Basima’s workshop is at centre of Arraba.
Hours: Every day (except Friday) from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Mobile: +970 42468794

THE NARGILEH SHOP AND OTHER GIFTS

EXPERIENCE AND SHOPPING

If you want to take home a piece of Palestine, the gift shop can give you some original ideas. One example is to get an elegant narghile or some less bulky gifts.

Address: The gift shop is at the center of Arraba. Open from 9 a.m. – 6 p.m. Mobile: +970 42468794.

THE MUNICIPAL PARK

The Arraba Municipal Park, with nature as orderly groves, is a great place for entertainment. It has games, a café with indoor and outdoor seating, and a swimming pool during summer for children. There is also a swimming pool for adults (which is open in the summer alternatively: women only in the even days, and men only in the odd days).

The park is also a good spot for couples and families to spend the evenings.

Address: At the end of Northern Street.
Hours: 9 a.m. – midnight.

BILAL OBEID’S RESTAURANT

Bilal Obeid’s “Happiness Restaurant” in Arraba offers good Palestinian food. You can grab fast food on-the-go or choose to have a dining experience (on the 1st floor) with a menu full of Palestinian dishes.

Address: On the main street of Arraba (downtown).
Hours: Open daily from 10 a.m. – midnight.
Mobile: +970 592462992, Tel +970 42462922.

AL-NAZAZEH OLIVE OIL AND CHARCOAL EXPERIENCE

Al-Nazazeh is specialized in producing olive oil while benefiting Palestinian farmers.

We highly encourage visitors to look into the olive oil seasons and take part in the olive-making process (our Contact Centre and al-Nazazeh can assist you in this matter). Through this project, you can join the community in olive picking during the last months of the year. You can then see at al-Nazazeh how olives are selected, pressed, and bottled as exquisite Palestinian olive oil.

In parallel to the olive oil, the factory has another fascinating production of charcoal bricks, made out of wasted wood, to be burnt in stoves.

Address: Al-Nazazeh Company. Managed by Abdalaziz Ardah.
Email: [email protected]
Website: https://www.alnazazeh.com/?page_id=908

EXPLORING ARRABA AT NIGHT

Arraba is pleasant at night, although it must be noted that women rarely hang out there and rarely ever walk alone. You will mostly find couples and families enjoying the charming atmosphere. The shops, mainly of street food, are open at night and keep things bright. The shop keepers are well disposed and pleased to share their cooking specialties and expertise with tourists.

Guests are encouraged to taste and learn how to make such delicious treats. These include taboon bread, pita bread (for sandwiches or to dip in sauces), falafels in different compositions and tastes, fried kubbeh with meat or vegetables, and zarb (chicken cooked below the ground!) There are also various sweets to savour and create, such as the delicious knafeh, the mutabbaq with phyllo pastry and orange syrup, and others.