حول بني زيد


بني زيد هي بلدية يبلغ عدد سكانها حوالي 6000 نسمة، وتقع على بعد 27 كم شمال غرب رام الله. تأسست عام 1966 بعد دمج قريتي دير غسانة وبيت ريما معاً.

تستمد بلدة بني زيد الحديثة اسمها من اسم قبيلة بني زيد البدوية، التي ترجع أصولها إلى المملكة العربية السعودية في القرن الحادي عشر. حيث شارك بعضهم في حملة صلاح الدين الأيوبي لتحرير القدس من الصليبيين. وبعد الانتصار قرّر صلاح الدين مكافأة هذه القبيلة وإقناعها بالبقاء في فلسطين، فأهدى "بني زيد" أراضي دير غسانة وبيت ريما والقرى المجاورة الأخرى.

كانت قبيلة بني زيد محظوظة بحصولها على هذه الأرض الخصبة الغنية بالزيتون والفواكه ومرافق معالجة المنتجات. وقد شهد اقتصاد تلك القرى نمواً في القرون التالية بسبب الطلب المستمر على زيت الزيتون والصابون والقمح من التجمعات المجاورة.

في القرن السادس عشر، وفي ظل الحكم العثماني، أصبحت بني زيد بمثابة منطقة إدارية لتحصيل الضرائب وتعبئة الجيش. ثم في القرن التاسع عشر خضعت لحكم آل البرغوثي النبيلة.

كانت دير غسانة ضمن 24 قرية اعتبرت مقر حكم عشيرة البرغوثي، والتي كان لها نفوذ اقتصادي وسياسي، وبسطت سلطتها على القرى الأخرى. يبدو جلياً التميز الثقافي في القرية، والذي يظهر في هندستها المعمارية الغنية وأسلوبها. ومن الواضح في القرية أيضاً الحفاظ على الانسجام الديني والتجربة الصوفية الروحية.


للوصول إلى هذه البلدة

يمكن الوصول إلى هناك بواسطة السيارة، أو عن طريق طلب سيارة الأجرة "تاكسي". هناك أيضا العديد من الحافلات وسيارات الأجرة من محطة الباصات في رام الله والقدس.

عن دير غسانة


دير غسانة هي قرية تابعة لبلدية بني زيد مجاورة لقرية بيت ريما التابعة للبلدية. من وجهة النظر السياحية، يمكن اعتبار القريتين (دير غسانة وبيت ريما) وجهة واحدة ويمكن اعتبار العروض المختلفة قابلة للتبادل.


المعالم الرئيسية



قصر صالح البرغوثي

إحدى أقدم وأقوى عشائر قبيلة بني زيد هي عائلة البرغوثي النبيلة الثرية، وتتكون العشيرة من تسعة فروع امتدت قوتها الجماعية إلى ما وراء مشيخة بني زيد إلى السهل الساحلي لفلسطين.

في العام 1602 قاموا ببناء قصرهم المكون من طابق واحد في وسط بلدة دير غسانة كدلالة على قوة نفوذهم.

بعد 250 عاماً قام الشيخ صالح البرغوثي وهو على رأس السلطة بعملية تجديد وتوسيع للقصر. حيث قام بإكمال الطابق الثاني وتقسيمه إلى ثلاث أقسام: الأول هو "السلاملك" الذي يحتوي على قاعة الاستقبال وغرف الطعام وغرف الضيوف. يدخل عامة الناس إلى القصر عبر الباب الصغير، أما البوابة الكبيرة فهي مخصصة للحيوانات الكبيرة والضيوف المهمين. أما الطابق الأرضي " الخزائن"، فيضم الورش ومخازن الطعام، والاسطبلات.

أما الحرملك في الطابق الثاني فهو الجناح المخصص لإقامة النساء والخدم، وفوقه يوجد المكان المخصص لاستجمام الشيخ والمطلة على أملاكه. وفي وسط القصر يوجد فناء مفتوح محاط بأربع قناطر شبه مفتوحة تستخدم كمخازن واسطبلات.

يقدم المرشد المحلي للزوار وصفاً لأقسام القصر المختلفة، شارحاً هيكل العائلة والأدوار التي يقوم بها كل من الرجال والنساء والأطفال والخدم والمعاونين الخارجيين والضيوف. سيكون من الجدير رؤية كيف تم حجب الزوجات عن أعين الآخرين فيما عدا أزواجهن من خلال الهندسة المعمارية، وكيف أثرت هذه العزلة على تصميم القصر.

مقام الخواص

مقام الخواص عبارة عن مبنى ذو قبتين يقع على قمة تل على بعد 500 متر غرب دير غسانة. ينتصب المقام الذي يحتوي على محراب في منطقة منعزلة، ويعتبر موقع تأمل الخواص، وهو رجل دين صوفي من مصر كان يتردد على المنطقة.
تم بناء القبة الشرقية من قبل سكان دير غسانة، بينما تقول الأسطورة المحلية أن القبة الغربية أكملتها الملائكة.

كانت القباب ذات تصميم داخلي بسيط ومدخل ببابين في الطرف الشمالي. تعكس الجدران الداخلية البيضاء والمزينة بعدد قليل من الآيات القرآنية المكتوبة على أجزاء من الجدران التقليد الإسلامي للنور والروح السماوية.
خصص مقام الخواص للنساء في حين أن المسجد للذكور حصراً.
قبيل الانتداب البريطاني، كانت النساء تترددن إلى المقام، وكانت مجموعات كبيرة من النساء والأطفال من قرى بني زيد تزور الضريح خلال موسم الحج، لإقامة الاحتفالات والتواصل مع النساء الأخريات والصلاة. ووفقاً لسعاد العامري (مديرة ومؤسس مركز المعمار الشعبي "رواق")، فإن عزلة مقام الخواص وطقوس الرحلة صعوداً للوصول إلى الحرم أضافت (وتضيف) للزيارة شعوراً بالسكينة.

مقام المجذوب

يبعد مقام المجذوب عن قرية دير غسانة حوالي الساعة سيراً على الأقدام، وهو من أجمل الأماكن الصوفية التي تعود إلى العصور الوسطى في فلسطين. يقع الضريح على قمة جبل الظاهر مقابل مقام الخواص.

يشير اسم المجذوب (المشتق من فعل الانجذاب الإلهي) إلى نوع من النداء العفوي للقلب نحو الله، دون جهد وأحياناً حتى بدون تعلّم. يشير المجذوب إلى رجل صوفي جذبه "الحق" ليشهد الحضور الإلهي الصوفي. يُدعى جبل الظاهر، وهو مكان بناء المقام، بـ"رجال صوفا " -في إشارة إلى الأولياء المدفونين في المرقد.

يجتاز الزوار، في طريقهم إلى المقام، بحر البنات. فوفقاً للحكاية المحلية، كانت النساء تتجمعن في هذه المنطقة خلال موسم الأعياد وخاصة يوم الجمعة العظيمة. كان الناس منذ زمن صلاح الدين الأيوبي، يشاركون في أعياد تزامنت غالباً مع الأعياد المسيحية والحج. وكان تجمهر الناس إجراءً دفاعياً في حالة التوغل الصليبي. وقد أصبحت هذه عادة شعبية حيث يقوم الناس بزيارة المزارات والمقامات المختلفة في مواسم معينة.

مقام المجذوب

مقام المجذوب والذي يبعد حوالي الساعة عن قرية دير غسانة سيراً على الأقدام، هو من أجمل الأماكن الصوفية التي تعود إلى العصور الوسطى في فلسطين. يقع الضريح على قمة جبل الظاهر مقابل مقام الخواص.

يشير اسم المجذوب (المشتق من فعل الانجذاب الإلهي) إلى نوع من النداء العفوي للقلب نحو الله، دون جهد وأحياناً حتى بدون تعلّم. يشير المجذوب إلى رجل صوفي جذبه "الحق" ليشهد الحضور الإلهي الصوفي. يُدعى جبل الظاهر، وهو مكان بناء المقام، بـ"رجال صوفا " -في إشارة إلى الأولياء المدفونين في المرقد.

يجتاز الزوار، في طريقهم إلى المقام، بحر البنات. فوفقاً للحكاية المحلية، كانت النساء تتجمعن في هذه المنطقة خلال موسم الأعياد وخاصة يوم الجمعة العظيمة. كان الناس منذ زمن صلاح الدين الأيوبي، يشاركون في أعياد تزامنت غالباً مع الأعياد المسيحية والحج. وكان تجمهر الناس إجراءً دفاعياً في حالة التوغل الصليبي. وقد أصبحت هذه عادة شعبية حيث يقوم الناس بزيارة المزارات والمقامات المختلفة في مواسم معينة.

جمعية دير غسانة النسائية

يقع مرقد المجذوب على بعد حوالي ساعة سيرًا على الأقدام من قرية دير غسانة ، وهو واحد من أجمل الأماكن الصوفية التي تعود إلى العصور الوسطى في فلسطين. يقع الضريح على قمة جبل الظاهر مقابل مقام الخواس.

يشير اسم المجذوب (مشتق من فعل الانجذاب إلى الإلهي) إلى نوع من النداء العفوي للقلب نحو الله ، دون جهاد وأحيانًا حتى بدون علم. يشير المجذوب إلى رجل صوفي أُغريه "العدل" ليشهد الحضور الإلهي الصوفي. جبل الظاهر ، مكان بناء الضريح ، يسمى رجال صوفا (رجال صوفا) - في إشارة إلى الأوصياء المدفونين في المرقد.

في الطريق المؤدي إلى الضريح ، يعبر الزوار بحر البنات. يُترجم الاسم حرفياً إلى "بحر الفتيات". وفقًا للقصة المحلية ، تجمعت النساء في هذه المنطقة خلال مواسم الأعياد خاصة يوم الجمعة العظيمة.


منذ زمن صلاح الدين الأيوبي ، كان الناس يشاركون في فترات تزامنت غالبًا مع الأعياد والحج المسيحي. كان تجمع الناس إجراء دفاعيًا في حالة التوغل الصليبي. وقد أصبحت هذه عادة والناس يزورون المزارات والمقام المختلفة في مواسم معينة.

الوجبات السريعة والمذاق اللذيذ

يوجد الكثير من المحلات التجارية في دير غسانة والتي تقدم مجموعة متنوعة من الوجبات السريعة المحلية مثل الفلافل والشاورما والسندويشات والفريكة وخبز الكماج والبقلاوة والكنافة والكلاج. ومن بينها متجر "أم علي" الذي يتعلم من خلاله الزائرين صنع الفلافل حسب الوصفة الخاصة!
تفتقر دير غسانة، كما هو الحال في معظم القرى، إلى مطاعم رسمية لتناول الطعام. ومع ذلك، يمكنك العثور في القسم أدناه "الإقامة مع العائلات ووجبات الطعام التي تنظمها جمعية سيدات دير غسانة" على وجبات غداء كاملة وبأسعار رخيصة.

وجبات منزلية لذيذة تنظمها جمعية سيدات دير غسانة

لا يوجد حتى الآن في بني زيد أماكن إقامة منظمة أو فنادق للسياح، ولكن هناك فرص أخرى أفضل بكثير. حيث تقوم علا الريماوي مسؤولة الاتصال بجمعية سيدات بني غسانة بتنظيم وجبات الغداء والعشاء وحتى الإقامة مع العائلات للزوار، سواء كانوا أفراد أو أزواج أو عائلات. وبهذه الطريقة، يمكن للزوار تجربة وتذوق الضيافة ونمط الحياة الفلسطينية التقليدية، بالإضافة إلى وجبة استثنائية من أفضل المأكولات الفلسطينية.

? جمعية السيدات في وسط دير غسانة.
? للتواصل علا الريماوي +970 597945895

موسيقى ورقص

امسية جميلة


في أحد قصور دير غسانة شقة مخصصة للموسيقى والرقص. وهو احد مقاعد جماعة الكمنجاتي (ومقرها رام الله). تنظم المجموعة ، بناءً على إشعار مسبق ، أمسية للموسيقى والأغاني والرقص حيث تعد مشاركة الضيوف وتدريبهم مكونًا رئيسيًا.

? وسط المدينة. التواجد في المكتب متفق عليه بعد الحجز.

? اتصل على +970 297 3101

? البريد الإلكتروني[email protected]

الموقع الإلكتروني

المركز الثقافي في بني زيد

يقع المركز الثقافي في مبنى قديم على الطراز العثماني الفلسطيني مع حديقة وروضة أطفال قيد الترميم الآن.

عند الانتهاء من الأعمال ، سيكون المركز أيضًا مكانًا للترحيب بالسياح.

مقام النبي صالح

في محيط بيت ريما ، تجلب زيارة مثيرة للاهتمام إلى ضريح النبي صالح ، والذي ربما يعود تاريخه إلى آخر عهد مملوكي أو أوائل العصر العثماني ، حوالي عام 1500 قبل الميلاد.

تم توسيعه وترميمه عدة مرات منذ ذلك الحين ، كان آخرها في عام 2003. يشير السجل الأثري إلى أنه تم بناؤه على قمة كنيسة صليبية من القرن الثاني عشر ، تم استبدالها لاحقًا بدير بيزنطي قبل أن تصبح مزارًا إسلاميًا.

هذا نمط نموذجي للأماكن المقدسة في فلسطين. على مر القرون ، أصبح الضريح مقصدًا للحج السنوي الذي كان يتم في شهر مايو من كل عام ، والذي تضمن الأغاني والرقصات الشعبية. استمر المهرجان هنا حتى وقت قريب جدًا ، ولم ينته إلا مع الانتفاضة الثانية.

يشير اسم النبي صالح إلى نبي عربي ما قبل الإسلام. يقول القرآن أن صالح بشر بنوع من التوحيد إلى ثمود ، وهي قبيلة عربية وثنية رفضت التخلي عن عبادة الأصنام ودمرها الله.

يتكون الضريح من غرفتين على شكل إيوان ، مساحة مربعة أو مستطيلة الشكل مغلقة من ثلاث جهات بينما الجانب الرابع مفتوح بقوس.


على الجانب الشرقي من الضريح توجد حجرة الدفن المزينة بالقبر ، على غرار المقدسات الإسلامية الأخرى. فتحة في السقف تتيح للزوار الاستمتاع بمنظر من الأعلى.
راجع أيضًا

? العنوان: على الطريق باتجاه الجنوب عند التقاطع مع الطريق الوطني 465 المؤدي إلى بيرزيت ورام الله. دائما مفتوح.

منزل خاص ومضياف لعابد الرزيق

بقيادة المرشد المحلي ، يمكن للمالك استقبال الزوار في قصر عبد الرازق العلالي. العلالي تعبير يعني ، بالمعنى المحلي ، وحدة معمارية تدل على المكانة الاجتماعية العالية لصاحبها. القصر عبارة عن مجمع كبير من المباني العثمانية الفلسطينية التي لا تزال تحتوي على مباني الدورة الكاملة لمعالجة الزيتون. يذكر المصدر القديم لثروة الأسرة ، أصحاب مساحات شاسعة من الأراضي مع الزيتون. توفر زيارة المنزل الفرصة للعيش لبعض اللحظات بأجواء نهاية القرن التاسع عشر ، حيث تشهد الغرف المفروشة جيدًا بالأثاث الأصلي. يوفر تراس الطابق العلوي إطلالة بزاوية 360 درجة على القرية والمناطق المحيطة بها.
? العنوان يقع المنزل في وسط مدينة بيت ريما وسيفتح من قبل المالك ، وهو مضيف مثالي.

فاطمة عابد علي

لتجارب التطريز بالقش

في غرفة كبيرة على الشارع الرئيسي في بيت ريما ، يمكن للزائر أن يلتقي ، بعد إشعار مسبق ، فاطمة عبد علي التي ستعرف الضيفة على شقيقتها عيدة. وستعرض عيدة منتجات التطريز المصنوعة من القش من أشجار النخيل وأغصان الزيتون. يتم إنتاج الأوشحة والسجاد والحقائب والسلال ذات النوعية الجيدة والفنان على استعداد لتعليم كيفية صنعها. بعد الدرس مع القهوة العربية الحتمية ، سيعطي المعلم المشاركين أيضًا بعض القش والفروع و "المخرز" ، الإبرة الخاصة للقشة والفروع ، لدعوتهم لمواصلة التدريبات في المنزل.

? العنوان على الطريق العام في بيت ريما.
? Call Mob of Eideh Abed Ali +970595 303368

مخبز عابد علي

الطبق الساخن بالجبن أو الزعتر

في نفس مكان التطريز ، تطبخ الأسرة في فرن الحطب وتحضر مع الضيوف الطابون اللذيذ بالزعتر أو الجبن والأعشاب والتوابل الفلسطينية المعتادة.

أطعمة الشوارع والحلويات التقليدية

عند السير على طول بيت ريما ، بالقرب من الساحة الرئيسية ، يلتقي الزوار بالمتاجر للاستمتاع بالتخصصات المحلية لتناول وجبة سريعة ورخيصة.

أفضل الاقتراحات هي:

• أبو جواد مفتوح كل مساء (8 مساءا - 12 منتصف الليل) من الأحد حتى الخميس. الجمعة والسبت وأيام العطل الأخرى من الصباح حتى منتصف الليل. يقدم مجموعة واسعة من طعام الشارع
• نفس العرض الممتاز من ShamShown ، مفتوح كل مساء (8 مساءً - 12 صباحًا)
• يزيد مفتوح طوال اليوم (6 ص - 12 م) طوال الأسبوع.
• يفتح مطعم الخال أيضًا من الساعة 6 صباحًا حتى 12 ظهرًا 7 أيام / 7 أيام.

ملحوظة: حلول الإقامة والوجبات المقترحة المدرجة في دير غسانة صالحة أيضًا لبيت ريما المجاورة.

About BANI ZEID


Bani Zeid is a municipality with around 6,000 inhabitants, located 27 km north-west of Ramallah. It was founded in 1966 when the two villages of Deir Ghassaneh and Beit Rima merged together.

The modern town of Bani Zeid receives its name from a Bedouin tribe, Bani Zeid, who came from Saudi Arabia in the 11 th century. Some of them took part in Salah Eddin al-Ayyubi’s campaign to conquer Jerusalem against the Crusades. After winning, Salah Eddin decided to reward this tribe and convince them to stay in Palestine, so he gifted ‘Bani Zeid’ the territory of Deir Ghassaneh, Beit Rima, and other neighboring villages.

The tribe of Bani Zeid was lucky to have received this fertile land rich with olives, fruits, and facilities for treating the products. The villages grew their economy in the following centuries due to the continuous demand for olive oil, soap, and wheat from the neighboring communities.

In the 16 th century, under the Ottoman rule, Bani Zeid served as an administrative district for tax collection and army mobilization. Then in the 19 th century, it was ruled by the Barghouti noble family.

Deir Ghassaneh was included among the 24 Throne Villages under the Barghouti clan, which had economic and political influence and thus strengthened its power over the other villages. The cultural excellence is evident in the village, as exemplified in its rich architecture and style. Also visible in the village is the preservation of religious harmony and the spiritual Sufi experience.


How to reach it

You can get there by car, a reserved taxi, or by multiple buses/taxis from the bus stations of Ramallah and Jerusalem.

About DEIR GHASSANEH


Deir Ghassaneh is a village within the Bani Zeid municipality, adjacent to the other village of Beit Rima. From the tourist point of view, both villages (Deir Ghassaneh and Beit Rima) can be considered as one destination and the different offers as interchangeable.


The main points of interest



PALACE OF SALEH AL-BARGHOUTI

One of the oldest and most powerful clans of the Bani Zeid tribe was the wealthy noble family of al-Barghouti. The clan consisted of nine branches whose collective power extended beyond the Bani Zeid sheikhdom to the coastal plain of Palestine.

In 1602, they built their one-floor palace at the centre of Deir Ghassaneh as a sign of their power. 250 years later, Sheikh Saleh al-Barghouti, at the top of his power, renovated the palace and enlarged it. He completed the second floor and divided it among three parts. The first, salamlek , contained a reception area, dining halls, and a guesthouse. The people entered through one small door, whereas a larger one was for big animals and important guests. The ground floor, khazeen , included workshops, food depots, and stables. The haramlek , on the second floor, served as the living quarters for women and servants. Above the living quarters was the Sheikh's' retreat and leisure area overlooking his estates. The center has an open courtyard, enclosed by four partially open arcades for stables or storage.

The local guide will describe the different parts of the building to the guests, explaining the structure of the family and the roles that the palace’s men, women, children, servants, external helpers, and guests have had. It will be worth seeing through the architecture how the wives were secluded from the view of any but their husbands, and how this isolation impacted the design of the palace.

MAQAM AL-KHAWWAS (SHRINE)

The shrine of al-Khawwas is a double-domed building situated on a hilltop 500 meters west of Deir Ghassaneh. Standing in an isolated area and containing a mihrab, it is considered to have been the meditation site of al-Khawass, a Sufi holy man from Egypt who often visited the community. The eastern dome was constructed Deir Ghassaneh’s residents, while local legend holds that the western dome was completed by angels.

The domes had a simple interior and a two-door entrance on its northern end. The white interior and few Quran verses written on parts of the walls reflect the Muslim tradition of heavenly light and spirit.

Maqam al-Khawwas was reserved to women whereas the mosque had largely been a male domain. Prior to the British Mandate, it was frequented by women. During their seasonal pilgrimage, large groups of women and children from the villages of Bani Zeid would visit the shrine to celebrate festivities, socialize with other women, and pray. According to Suad Amiry (founder and director of RIWAQ, Centre for Architectural Conservation), Maqam al-Khawwas's isolation and the ritual of having to travel uphill to reach the sanctuary added (and is adding) to the tranquil feeling of the visit.

MAQAM AL-MAJDHOUB (SHRINE)

The shrine of al-Majdhoub, about an hour’s walk beyond the village of Deir Ghassaneh, is one of the most beautiful and evocative medieval Sufi sanctuaries in Palestine. The shrine is situated on top of al-Thaher Mountain and lies opposite the Maqam (shrine) of al-Khawass.

The name Al-Majdhoub (derived from the act of attraction to the divine), refers to a kind of spontaneous calling of the heart towards God, without struggle and sometime even without learning. Al-Majdhoub refers to a Sufi man was enticed by “justice” to witness the mystical divine presence. Al-Thaher Mountain, the place where the shrine was built, is called Rijal Sufa (the men of Sufa) – referring to the guardians buried in the shrine.

On the path to the shrine, the visitors cross Bahr al-Banat. The name literally translates to the "sea of girls." According to the local story, women gathered in this area during holiday seasons particularly on Good Friday. Since the times of Salah Eddin al-Ayyubi, people participated in periods that often coincided with Christian holidays and pilgrimages. The gathering of the people was a defensive measure in case of Crusader incursions. This has become a habit and people visited the different shrines and Maqams during certain seasons.

SHEIK KHALED SHRINE

Just beyond the center of the village and near the Women’s Association seat, there is the domed shrine of Sheikh Khaled, an Ottoman building dedicated to a local holy man whose story is long forgotten.

Now around the shrine, there is a garden for children. If it is not open, ask around: the neighbors will give you the key.

Don't miss such a quiet and meditative place. It gives you more of the Palestine spirituality than many mosques and churches.

DEIR GHASSANEH WOMEN SOCIETY

The shrine of Al-Majdhoub, about an hour’s walk beyond the village of Deir Ghassaneh, is one of the most beautiful and evocative medieval Sufi sanctuaries in Palestine. The shrine is situated on top of al-Thaher Mountain and lies opposite the Maqam (shrine) of al-Khawass.

The name Al-Majdhoub (derived from the act of attraction to the divine), refers to a kind of spontaneous calling of the heart towards God, without struggle and sometime even without learning. Al-Majdhoub refers to a Sufi man was enticed by “justice” to witness the mystical divine presence. Al-Thaher Mountain, the place where the shrine was built, is called Rijal Sufa (the men of Sufa) – referring to the guardians buried in the shrine.

On the path to the shrine, the visitors cross Bahr al-Banat. The name literally translates to the "sea of girls." According to the local story, women gathered in this area during holiday seasons particularly on Good Friday.


Since the times of Salah Eddin al-Ayyubi, people participated in periods that often coincided with Christian holidays and pilgrimages. The gathering of the people was a defensive measure in case of Crusader incursions. This has become a habit and people visited the different shrines and Maqams during certain seasons.

STREET FOOD AND SWEET TASTES

There are lots of shops in Deir Ghassaneh offering a wide variety of local fast foods such as falafel, shawarma, sandwiches, freekeh, pita bread, baklava, knafeh, and kullaj. Among those is Oum Ali shop, which makes falafels and also trains visitors to make them according to his special recipe!
Like in most villages, Deir Ghassaneh has an absence of formal dining restaurants. However, you can find the section below “Homestay and Gastronomic Meals Organized by the Women Association of Deir Ghassaneh” for fulfilling and complete dinners with inexpensive prices.

?‍?Um Ali Shop
Makes falafels and also trains visitors to make them as per the special recipe


HOMESTAY AND GASTRONOMIC MEALS

ORGANIZED BY THE WOMEN ASSOCIATION OF DEIR GHASSANEH

Bani Zeid does not yet have structured homestays or hotels for tourists, but there are other much better chances. The contact point of the Women Association is Ola Rimawi. She will organize lunch, dinner and even homestays for visitors, whether traveling solo, as couples, or with families. In this way, visitors can really experience and taste the typical Palestinian hospitality and lifestyle, beyond an exceptional meal with the best of the Palestinian cuisine.

? Women Association is in downtown Deir Ghassaneh
? Call Ola Rimawi +970 597945895

MUSIC AND DANCE

A NICE EVENING


In one of the palaces of Deir Ghassaneh is a flat dedicated to music and dance. It is one of the seats of al-Kamandjati group (with the headquarters in Ramallah). The group organizes, upon prior notice, an evening of music, song and dance where the participation and training of the guests is a main component.

? Downtown. The presence in the office is agreed after the reservation.

? Call +970 297 3101

? Email: [email protected]

Visit website

CULTURAL CENTRE OF BANI ZEID

The Cultural Centre is located in an old building of Ottoman-Palestinian style with a garden and a kindergarten, now under restoration.

When the works will be finished the Centre will be also a place for welcoming the tourists.

NABI SALEH SUFI SHRINE


In the surroundings of Beit Rima an interesting visit brings to the shrine of Nabi Saleh, which probably dates back to the last Mamluk or early Ottoman period, around 1500BC.

It has been extended and restored several times since then, most recently in 2003. The archaeological record suggests that it was built on top of a twelfth-century Crusader church, later replaced by a Byzantine monastery before definitively becoming an Islamic shrine.

This is a pattern typical of Palestine’s sacred sites. During the centuries, the shrine became destination of an annual pilgrimage that took place every May, and which included popular songs and dances. The festival survived here until very recently, coming to an end only with the second intifada.

The name Nabi Saleh refers to a pre-Islamic Arab prophet. The Quran says that Saleh preached some version of monotheism to the Thamud, a pagan Arab tribe who refused to abandon idolatry and were destroyed by God.


The Shrine consists of two rooms in form of Iwan, a square or rectangular shaped area closed from three sides whereas the fourth side is open with an arch.

On the east side of the shrine, lies the burial chamber adorned by the tomb, similar to other Islamic sanctuaries. An opening in the roof enables the visitors to enjoy a view from above.
See also

? Address: On the road towards South at the cross with the 465 National road to Birzeit and Ramallah. Always open.

PRIVATE AND HOSPITABLE HOUSE OF ABED AL-RAZEQ

Led by the local guide, the visitors can be welcomed in the Abed Al-Razeq Al-Alali palace by the landlord. Al-Alali is an expression which means, in the local sense, an architectural unit that indicates the high social status of its owner. The palace is a large complex of Ottoman-Palestinian buildings which still holds the premises of the complete cycle of treatment of olives. It reminds the old source of wealth of the family, owners of large extensions of land with olives. The visit of the house offers the opportunity to live for some moments the atmosphere of the end of the 19th century, witnessed by rooms well furnished with original furniture. The terrace of the upper floor offers a view at 360° on the village and its surroundings.
? Address The house is in downtown of Beit Rima and will be open by the landlord, a perfect host.

FATIMA ABED ALI

FOR EXPERIENCES OF EMBROIDERY WITH STRAW

In a large room on the main street of Beit Rima, the visitor can meet, after prior notice, Fatima Abed Ali who will introduce the guest to her sister Eideh. Eideh will show the products of embroidery made with straw from palm trees and olive branches. Scarves, carpets, bags, baskets, of good quality, are produced and the artist is willing to teach how to make them. After the lesson with the inevitable Arabic coffee, the teacher will give the participants also some straws and branches and the “mikhraz”, the special needle for the straw and branches, to invite them to continue at home the exercises.

? Address On the Main Road of Beit Rima.
? Call Mob of Eideh Abed Ali +970 595 303368

BAKERY ABED ALI

HOT TABOON WITH CHEESE OR ZA’ATAR

In the same premises of the embroidery, the family cooks in a fired wood oven and prepares with the guests a delicious taboon with za’atar or cheese and the usual Palestinian herbs and spices.

STREET FOOD AND TYPICAL SWEETS

Walking along Beit Rima, near the main square, the visitors meet shops for enjoying the local specialties for a fast and cheap meal.

The best suggestions are:

Abu Jawadt, open every evening (8 pm – 12 am ) from Sunday until Thursday. Friday, Saturday and other holidays from the morning until midnight. It offers a wide range of street food
• Same excellent offer by ShamShown, open every evening (8 pm – 12 am)
Yazeed, is open all day (6 am – 12 pm) of the whole week.
Al Khal restaurant too is open 6am - 12 pm 7days/7.

Note: The suggested accommodation's and meal's solution listed for Deir Ghassaneh are also valid for the adjacent Beit Rima.